The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest

Spoiler alert: If you haven’t read the trilogy in order, and I would recommend you do, do not read reviews of this third book. They all contain spoilers of the story to this point.

The Stieg Larsson books should be read in this order:

1) The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
2) The Girl Who Played With Fire
3) The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest

Publisher’s Summary from

The stunning third and final novel in Stieg Larsson’s internationally best-selling trilogy.

Lisbeth Salander—the heart of Larsson’s two previous novels—lies in critical condition, a bullet wound to her head, in the intensive care unit of a Swedish city hospital. She’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if and when she recovers, she’ll be taken back to Stockholm to stand trial for three murders. With the help of her friend, journalist Mikael Blomkvist, she will not only have to prove her innocence, but also identify and denounce those in authority who have allowed the vulnerable, like herself, to suffer abuse and violence. And, on her own, she will plot revenge—against the man who tried to kill her, and the corrupt government institutions that very nearly destroyed her life.

Once upon a time, she was a victim. Now Salander is fighting back.

My thoughts: Perhaps the only book of the three which had some tediousness built-in, I was glad to have read this last one nonetheless. Certainly part of the challenge was to actually answer the myriads of questions surrounding Lisbeth Salander which were raised in the first two books – if you want your answers, it’ll take some time and detail. Anyway, anyone rooting for Ms. Salander in the first two books will not be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.